Part of the
Effective: November 25, 2019
We have taken steps to promote protection of your privacy in this digital world.
We built our Website in a way that provides safeguards for your privacy. All user accounts and Content are encrypted. We require that you create an account to access or use the Website.
We do not know your password, which means you are solely are responsible to safeguard and remember it. If you forget your password, you may reset it so long as you have a valid email address associated with your account. WE ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE AND WILL NOT BE LIABLE FOR ANY LOSS OR DAMAGE YOU SUFFER AS A RESULT OF LOSING OR FORGETTING YOUR PASSWORD.
If your account is deleted f rom the Website, by you or by us, it is permanently removed, and the account and its Content cannot be recovered or accessed.
We never sell or trade the personal information we collect, accept, or learn f rom you; therefore, you don’t need to opt out.
We collect only the following very limited information f rom you:
We require only two pieces of personal information f rom you to create an account: (1) your first and last name (or if creating a business account, the name of your entity or organization) and (2) a valid email address.
We accept other user information you choose to provide, including a photograph or other general information about yourself on your user profile. Your user settings control whether we or any other user can view this information.
When you initiate a financial transaction through the Website, third-party merchant processors collect certain information, including credit card or bank account information, to facilitate the transaction; however, we do not collect, store, or have access to such information.
If, pursuant to the Sphir Terms you notify us of a dispute by submitting a Dispute Form, opt-out of the Agreement to Arbitrate by providing an Opt-Out Notice, notify us of a potential copyright inf ringement by providing a DMCA notice, or we undertake an investigation related to your Content or behavior on the Website, we may require that you give us more personal information than that used to create your account, including your full name, phone number and/or address. We will store any additional information you provide consistent with the Sphir Terms.
When you access or use the Website, some of your activities provide information to us and other activities do not. In order to make our data practices transparent to our users, we provide the following information to generally describe what we do and do not learn about you when you use the Website.
Your picture and account name are public by default. Your privacy settings determine what other profile information is visible to us and others.
The Website uses your search topics and keywords to curate relevant information for you, but our people cannot see who searches for what on the Website unless it is disclosed to us by a user.
When you add a digital card to the Website (a “Card”) that Card is public (See our Card Guidelines to learn about how to create or claim a Card.). Your account is associated with any Cards you create, elevate, flag, or claim, and we can identify which Cards are included in your public library folders. We and any other user can view the Content of any Card. Once a Card is created, only Sphir can permanently delete the master version of the card f rom the Website.
When you claim a Card (See our Card Guidelines to learn about how to create or claim a Card.), your ownership of that card is public; anyone can see who claims a Card.
Anyone can see your public profile when you elevate a Card. Notes you add to a Sphir Card remain specific to your account and can be seen only if your folder settings permit us or others to see it.
By default, when you create a post on the Website, it remains private until you change its settings to make it public or visible to f riends. We and any other user can see your public posts.
Only you can see what is curated in your account feed. Other users cannot see the topics of interest you follow.
By default, when you create a library folder, it is private until you change its settings to make it public or visible to your f riends. The “unfiled” folder in your library is always private. We see the names of your public library folders and Content contained in public folders.
The username of your “friends,” users you “follow,” and users who “follow” you are visible to other users on the Website.
You can send and receive encrypted messages with your friends and any businesses with permission to message you. We can’t see or access your messages, ever.
We do not see, store, or have access to information you provide to third-party merchant processors so they can facilitate your financial transactions.
We may use, aggregate, and/or disclose information you provide to us or that we learn about you for the following purposes:
Subject to the law, we store information you provide to us until your account is deleted.
Despite using a variety of managerial, technical, and physical measures to protect the integrity and security of your data, including the use of encryption, in today’s world we cannot ensure and do not warrant or guarantee that such data may not be accessed, disclosed, altered, or destroyed by breach of any of our safeguards, or that the Website will always remain secure.
We partner with third parties to build and operate the Website and, as required by law, expect that they adhere to our business and security standards.
We operate in a global marketplace and may transfer and/or store your information, in whole or in part, in the United States or in any other country where we operate or where our computer network is located.
At any time, you may download a text file of the information in your account. You can download this file yourself by clicking the “Download My Information” in your user profile settings. Alternately, you may request that we send the report to you by contacting us at MyContentDownload@Sphir.io.
Please review our Easy Reference Guide to learn how to make changes to your account settings, or to deactivate or delete your account.